When it comes to blocking on Instagram, you may face some situations which you need some guidance for it. So here we will share several guides for you to see what will happen to you when you block someone on Instagram or you get blocked on Instagram. Also, we will discuss how to unblock when you have blocked each other on Instagram.
1. What Happens When You Block Someone On Instagram?
Sometimes you may see a lot of spammy comments on your Instagram. Or someone may mention you on many irrelevant posts. Therefore you are no more comfortable sharing your posts with them. Well, the best option you have is to block them from your Instagram account. Now, if you want to know the impact it will have when you block them, then follow the article.
- When you block someone on Instagram, that person won’t know that you have blocked him/her because the user won’t get any notification.
- The user whom you blocked will be removed from your Instagram followers.
- The notifications from that user on your profile will be removed, as soon as you block the user on Instagram.
- All the earlier comments and likes (when not blocked) from that user on your posts will disappear.
- You can search, find and view the Instagram profile you have blocked. If the profile you blocked is public then you can even view their posts. Their profiles can also be visited by tapping on their username which is there in likes and comments.
- You cannot like or comment on their photos and videos after blocking them. They are only viewable for you if the account is public of course.
- Similar goes for the person who is getting blocked. Notifications from you will be removed from their profile. Furthermore, all your likes and comments on their posts will disappear for them.
- The Instagram Direct Conversation with the user you blocked will be removed from both the ends.
- You won’t be able to view each other Instagram Stories when blocked. Also, if you watched their story before blocking, your view will also be removed from the viewer’s list.
When You Block Someone on Instagram, Can They Still See Your Pictures?
No. The Instagram user that you blocked cannot view your photos. Also, the user you blocked cannot comment and like your posts since they won’t be able to view them.
Another thing to notice here is that you and the person whom you blocked won’t be able to send private messages to each other. So you are not able to use Instagram Direct to chat together.
What Happens If You Block Someone on Instagram And Then Unblock Them?
Now this can be an interesting question. As it mentioned above, you can unblock a user whenever you desired. For doing this, you need to visit the profile you have blocked and tap on “Follow”. Now that user will be unblocked automatically. But when you only want to unblock them and not follow them, then tap on 3 dots on their profile and select “Unblock User”.
After you unblock them here is what will happen:
1. All of the disappeared notifications, likes and comments from that blocked user will be restored. The same is true for the person who was blocked.
2. If you have followed each other, you can like and comment on each other profiles again as before.
3. Now you and the other user are able to use Instagram Direct to send private messages and chat with each other. Moreover, the earlier conversation will also be restored.
4. Depending on the privacy settings, you will be to view each other stories.
2. Steps to Find Out If You Got Blocked by Someone on Instagram
Before starting thus section, it should be note that the observations are the same for both Private and Public Instagram accounts. Here is how to find out if you’ve been hacked on Instagram. Let’s see:
1. First you need to Search for the Instagram username whom you suspect has blocked you using the Search option. If you do not find them by searching their username then you might be blocked. If you are able to see them in the search suggestions, it means you have searched them before or you are not blocked. But you can not be sure because the search function is behaving differently on different phones. So, keep reading.
2. If you don’t find them anywhere while searching, now you should go to any post of yours and comment the username of the person with @ prefix. As an example, if the person’s username is Alex20 then you should comment @Alex20.
3. Now, after you follow any of the steps mentioned above, go to that person’s profile by tapping on their name (search) or username (comment). On an Android phone, you should see the blank white screen with username written at the top. If you also see so, you are definitely blocked.
4. But if you are using an iPhone, some of you might also see the profile with the profile picture and bio mostly. You will not be able to see their photos, videos or stories. If you are blocked by the person, you will see ‘User Not Found‘ in the place of ‘Follow’. However, if you see the ‘Follow’ button, tap on it. If they have blocked you, you will not be able to follow them and after just a second it will again say ‘Follow’.
3. Steps to Unblock Each Other on Instagram
You might have blocked someone on Instagram because of some reason or the other. After figuring out that you have blocked them on Instagram they blocked you back. Or this story can be just the opposite. But in any case, you have now blocked each other on Instagram and you are not able to find a way to visit each other’s profile to unblock. If it seems like your story then this tutorial is going to be a lifesaver for you. Here you will get to know the working method in 2019 to unblock if you have blocked each other on Instagram.
In the first place, Instagram makes it pretty tough for users to block each other. The only way to block each other is mentioned below. It is only possible to block each other if at least one of you is using the Instagram iPhone app.
- Visit the desired user’s profile.
- Tap on the 3 dots icon at the top right and select Block.
- Confirm your decision by tapping on “Block“.
If the second user wants to block the first user then they have two options as it I mentioned below:
- In case the second person has landed on the profile of the first person already when they hadn’t blocked them and are still there then they can easily use the 3 dots at the top right and select Block to block them. But the chance of this situation is highly unlikely.
- The next case is only possible if the second user is using the Instagram app on iOS. Then they can go to the profile of the first user by commenting first person username with @prefix on any of the posts and then tapping on it. There the second user will see User not found but at the same time, you can see the 3 dots on the first person’s profile. Tap on it and select “Block“.
How to Unblock If You Have Blocked Each Other On Instagram
Now, later if you decide to unblock each other then the following options won’t work.
- Both of them will not be able to find each other via search.
- Instagram Direct conversations between them will be removed for both the parties. So it is not possible to Unblock or visit their profile via messages.
But don’t be disappointed. Here’s how you can do this.
Most Important Thing to Note
- On the iPhone app log into your account if not done already. After that, visit the profile of the person you want to unblock. You can do so in a couple of ways:
- Open any Instagram photo preferably yours as you will have to comment and it’s better not to spam others content. Tap on the comment icon below the image and type the Instagram username of the user you wish to unblock preceded by the @. Hit post to publish your comment. Now, tap on the username you commented above. This will take you to their profile.
- The other way for you is to : Visit your profile screen >> Tap on the Hamburger menu icon and select Settings >> Privacy and security >> Blocked accounts. Here you’ll be able to see all the accounts you’ve blocked. Now you tap on the blocked account you wish to unblock.
- Once you are on their profile, simply tap on 3 dots at the top right of their profile and select “Unblock“. Confirm your decision by selecting Unblock.
- As soon as one user unblocks another user using the iPhone app, the other user will be able to search them from their account using Android or iPhone app. And once on their profile, another person can easily unblock them.
Instagram has shown inconsistent behavior and it keeps on varying depending on the platform Android or iOS you’re using it on. If you follow the steps mentioned here then hopefully you should be able to unblock each other.
If you found this guide useful then don’t forget to share it on social media to help others out as well. In the case of any issue please drop a comment below.