WhatsApp is popular and loved by huge number of users all around the world for it’s concerns about users privacy and security. For the same reason there is no certain way to tell if you are blocked on WhatsApp by any other user. However there are some staffs that may help you make better guesses and confirm if someone has blocked you on WhatsApp or not.
How to know I’m blocked on WhatsApp?
Here is a list of possible sign that should make you consider that you have been blocked by some contact on WhatApp messenger.
- Online status.
In case you can no longer see a contact’s last seen or online. Open a chat window with the specific contact and check his online status.
- Profile picture.
You do not see profile photos updates for a specific contact? You might have been blocked.
- Messages and calls.
If you keep sending messages on WhatsApp and you keep seeing on single check mark that showing your message is sent but staying unread or not delivered, or if you cannot make calls with the particular contact on WhatsApp you may be blocked by the contact you are messaging.
Create a WhatsApp group and try to add the contact you think he has blocked you to the new group. In case you be able to add the contact you are not blocked definitely but if you get an error message saying that you don’t have the authorization to add him you are blocked by the contact.
If you see all of the signs above for a contact that you think he may have blocked you, this could mean that the user has done so. However, there are always other possibilities and you cannot ever make sure. WhatsApp has made this intentionally ambiguous in order to protect users privacy when they block someone, according to WhatsApp help center.
How to get unblocked on WhatsApp by someone?
While is almost impossible to find out you are blocked on WhatsApp for sure, you also cannot be unblocked unless the contact that has blocked you decide to do so. By the mean there is nothing that you can do to get unblocked except talking to your friends by other ways than WhatsApp and asking them to unblock you.
Frequent questions and answers about being blocked on WhatsApp
If you are blocked on WhatsApp for any reason by someone, your past conversations will still remain in your app.
If you are blocked you cannot see the current profile picture or any updates made on it.
No you still would have the contact information of the user that has blocked you.
Once the particular contact has unblocked you, the message you sent earlier while you were blocked remains undelivered. So if you want to send them again you must forward them.
If you are blocked by the person and the particular person change his WhatsApp phone number you are able to see the new number if he is in your WhatsApp contact, by the mean if you already have the old number of that person.
The first thing that happens when a contact block you on WhatsApp is that you no longer would be able to see the status update, the last seen and changes to the profile picture. Sometimes you need to see what is going on, here is a trick to do so. Create a new WhatsApp account with another phone number and add the contact that has blocked you to new account. You also can add the contact’s information to one of your friends or family members WhatsApp account to check the profile updates and pictures.