Facebook is the giant and the world’s largest social network website. If you are into using your Facebook account often, you need to know that controlling your privacy in the virtual world is a real deal and it should not be taken for granted. Facebook offers a number of privacy features, but they might seem a little bit complicated or difficult to find. It is important to manage the settings for Facebook privacy and control who can see the content that you are sharing. That is because the default settings might be sharing content more than you need and you are not even aware of it. Read this article for Facebook privacy settings made simple and manage your privacy on this social network.
How secure is Facebook?
Facebook has been criticized for collecting too much information from users. Many privacy advocates believe that Facebook might be sharing users’ personal data with third-parties and it would be possible to spy on Facebook accounts. Mark Zuckerberg, the chief executive of Facebook, accepted that Facebook has made some mistakes with regard to the privacy of data.
Also, the default privacy settings on Facebook make too much data public and that is why it has been criticized by many privacy advocates. Despite all of these issues, users can always customize Facebook privacy settings and enhance their privacy.
How to access Facebook privacy settings
There are three basic methods you can use to access privacy settings on your Facebook account:
- On the upper right corner of your Facebook page, there is a little gear icon. Click on it to open the pull-down menu and then click on “Privacy Settings“. This will take you to the main privacy settings page where you can manage everything.
- Click on the tiny lock icon on the right side of your name. You will see a drop-down menu where you can find the exact options but with some difference in wording.
- There is a pull down menu on the right side of the every content you share. This menu is called the “Inline privacy controls” and it is designed to make it simpler to access different privacy settings.
Options on Facebook privacy settings
The privacy settings page on your Facebook account allows to specify the extend to which you want to share your content. So, the first thing you need to do is to access the settings from one of the ways I mentioned above. Now here are the options you can have in the privacy settings.
Manage who can see your posts
The Facebook default settings for sharing contents is “Public” this means that your status updates, photos, videos, links and other content are viewable by everyone on Facebook. But in 2014, Facebook announced that the default settings for content sharing is changed to “Friends”. But it is applied to accounts created after 2014 and not before that.
The sharing options are represented by small images on Facebook privacy settings page. Here are what these icons mean and what they can do:
- The globe icon – This icon stands for “Public“. It means that everyone can see your posts.
- Two heads icon – This icon stands for “Friends“. It means that only your friends can view your posts.
- Head icon – This icon stands for “Friends Except Acquaintances“. It means that you can manually exclude certain friends from viewing your posts.
- The gear icon -This icon stands for “custom“. It means that you can customize who can see your post by creating a list of approved friends.
It’s highly recommended that you change this default setting to “Friends” so only your Facebook friends can see what you’re posting.
Additional Facebook privacy settings
On the main privacy settings page, you will also see a number additional options as well. Here is an explanation of what each of these options does.
- How you connect – This section has 5 key security settings which allows you to manage who can connect with you or post on your timeline. It is recommended that you only allow your friends to see items on your timeline or post on it. if you want to be extremely private, you can choose “Only Me” for your wall settings. But that would basically prevent anyone from putting anything on your wall and only allow you to post stuff there.
- Tags – Tags are the way that other Facebook users can label any post or photo with your name. You need to control how your name label can be used by other people.
- Apps and websites – There is a detailed settings on how Facebook apps and other websites connected with Facebook can use your personal data.
- Past post – This section allows you to make a global change to all your previous posts.
- Blocked people and apps – This section allows you to create a list of people whom you do not want to see your posts.