Facebook is one of the oldest and most popular social networks that is used by over 1 billion users around the world. Most of us have created a Facebook account at some point in our lives and it might have helped us to find our old friends and get in contact with them. But nowadays there are many instant messengers that we use that some of us might have no longer be interested in Facebook. You might be feeling bored with Facebook and left your account for a while. But did you know that it is not safe? If you don’t want to use your Facebook account, it is better that you disable or delete Facebook account because if you don’t do so, you might create the chance for hackers to hack Facebook account and spy on your account. So here is how you can do that.
What you need to know about delete Facebook account
You might have different reasons for deleting Facebook account. You might want to get away from Facebook for a while or you might want to say goodbye to it for good. Whatever your reasons are and either you want to delete or disable Facebook account, there are ways you can do that. In this article i will show you how you can do that.
If you want to delete Facebook account, you need to know that after you proceed to delete your account, your account will remain on standby for 14 days. So, if you regret deleting your account, you will be able to recover it within 14 days. So, if you have deleted your Facebook account and you want to get it back, you will need to login to your account before the standby period is over. If you really want to delete your Facebook account permanently, don’t login to your account in the standby period.
Another point you need to know is that once you have created a Facebook account, it will remain on Facebook servers for ever. So when you delete Facebook account, you will just delete it in the form that no one will be able to see you and find your account. It’s true that your data will remain on the servers, but your friends will no longer be able to view your Facebook photos while you are not using your account.
How to delete Facebook account permanently
The first thing you need to do if you want to delete your Facebook account permanently is to go to Facebook delete account page in your web browser. Then you will be asked to login to your account. so enter your Facebook username and password and and click on ‘Delete My Account‘. Then you will be led to a page for final confirmation and showing that you are not a robot. After you are done with the confirmation, your Facebook account will be deleted within 14 days.
How to deactivate Facebook account
There are times when you want to delete Facebook account only temporarily as you don’t want to use it for a while. Here is when you disable Facebook account. You can choose to deactivate Facebook account for a specific period and your friends won’t be able to view your posts in that period. follow these steps to delete Facebook account temporarily.
- Login to your Facebook account
- Go to ‘Settings‘ menu and click on ‘Security‘
- Find ‘Deactivate‘ your account and click on it
- You will be asked why you want to deactivate your account. Choose an option that suits your reason
- On the next page, choose the number of days you would want your account to be disabled and click on ‘Deactivate‘
- A new window will open. Enter your Facebook account password once more and click on ‘Deactivate now‘