It is beyond doubt that WhatsApp is the most popular instant messaging app out in the market. Over 1 billion users use WhatsApp for texting and calling. But still there might be people who rarely use WhatsApp. Are you start feeling that using all these chat communications are becoming a burden and you are tired of it all? So is there a way to delete WhatsApp account and get rid of that bulk of messages? the answer to this question is definitely yes.
In this article, I will provide you with a step-by-step tutorial on how to delete you WhatsApp permanently. You will also find out what happens to your data when you delete your account and if it is possible to get it back if you later regret deleting your account. I will Also teach you how you can reactivate your account and restore your data.
Also, what you need to know is that you will need to delete WhatsApp account directly from within the app. This is the company’s policy to maintain the security of your account.
Delete WhatsApp account if you no longer want to use it
You might think that if you no longer want to use WhatsApp, you can simply uninstall the app and forget about your whatsApp account for good. It is true that when you delete the app, you will no longer be bothered by it, but you may not be aware of the necessity to delete your account before you uninstall the app. If you Uninstall the app without deleting you account, your account will be left there unattended and this may create the chance for hackers to hack WhatsApp account and access your personal information.
If you are thinking about getting away from WhatsApp, what you definitely need to do is to delete your account before you uninstall the application from your device. This will ensure the privacy of your personal data on this messaging app when you are no longer using it.
What happens when I delete WhatsApp account?
When you delete your account on WhatsApp, the following things will happen:
- Your phone number is no longer associated with WhatsApp
- Your WhatsApp account is removed from the Favorite List of your friends
- You are removed from WhatsApp groups
- All your chats and media are removed from the app
Remember, you can always reactivate WhatsApp account and register again with the same phone number. But if you also want to have your data back, you will need to backup your data before you delete your account.
How to backup WhatsApp chats and photos
If you think you may want to return to WhatsApp in future and you will want to have your old account back, you will need to backup your data before you delete WhatsApp account.
In order to backup your files on WhatsApp go to WhatsApp Settings > Chats > Chat Backup > Back Up.
You can also enable auto backup to regularly backup your files on iCloud. You will be able to reactivate your account and restore your data in case you will need to recover your account.
How to delete WhatsApp permanently
It is actually quite simple to delete your account from within the app. Just take these simple steps:
- Launch WhatsApp application on your phone
- Tap on Settings and then go to Account
- Choose Delete My Account
- Enter your phone number
- Tap on Delete My Account at the bottom
How to reactivate deleted WhatsApp account
In order to restore a deleted WhatsApp account, you will need to simply re-install the application on your phone.
Then all you need to do is to follow the on-screen instructions to reactivate your account.
You will also be able to restore your backup files when you are prompted.