Instant messaging is our new mean of communication and instant messengers have made our lives a lot easier. WeChat is among internationally known messaging apps used by those around the world interested in communicating over mobile data connections. Like other instant messengers, WeChat is also easy to install and get started, but the process of deleting WeChat account is not as simple as the process of creating an account. If you feel that you are done with this messenger and you don’t want to use it any longer, here is how you can delete WeChat account.
Things to know before you delete WeChat
If you want to get rid of your WeChat account, the first thing you need to know is that uninstalling the app will not delete the account. This is because your WeChat account is not just connected to the downloaded app and this means that you will need to do a deletion process to remove your account.
Another point you need to know is that you shouldn’t uninstall the application before you delete WeChat account. So, if you are thinking about taking a break from WeChat, remember to delete your account before you uninstall the application.
And the final point is that when you delete your WeChat account, you will lose all your chat conversations and there is no way to get it back. This is because your messages are not stored on any external servers and when you delete your account, they are gone for good.
How to delete WeChat account
These are the steps you need to take if you want to delete your WeChat account:
- Launch your WeChat application and login to your account to begin the process.
- Go to WeChat settings and click on “Clear Chat History” button. When you are prompted to confirm the action, click the “Clear Chat History” option again to confirm.
- Now remove connections to third party apps linked to your WeChat account. Click on “My Account” option in settings. This will lead you to a new page with a list of all your third party application connected to your WeChat. Disconnect all of the third party apps and just keep your verified email address connected.
- Now you must send a request to WeChat in order to delete your account. You should send an email to ([email protected]) with your WeChat verified email address and request an account removal.
Why is it necessary to delete WeChat account if you don’t use it
If you are no longer interested in using WeChat, you might think that it would be enough to uninstall the application. But the point you need to know is that if you just remove the application, your account will be left out there and this will create the chance for hackers to hack WeChat account and spy on your WeChat messages. So if you want to make sure that your personal data will be safe, don’t forget to delete WeChat account before you uninstall the application.
How to retrieve deleted WeChat account
There are times when you delete an account and you regret doing so after a while. So is there a way to get all your chats and data back once you have deleted WeChat account? Unfortunately, WeChat doesn’t allow you to get your old account back once you have deleted it and this is because WeChat doesn’t store your chats on its servers. What you can do is to register a new WeChat account with your phone number that you used for your old account. But you will need to start everything over. So if you want to delete WeChat account, consider that you won’t be able to get it back and make sure you will no longer need it before you delete it.