Telegram is one of the instant messengers that is gaining more popularity day after day. It offer lots of wonderful features and it provides users with a high level of security and privacy ensuring that it would be impossible to hack Telegram account. But if you are tired of Telegram messenger and you want to end using it and switch to another one there is way to delete Telegram account for good. Also, if you are thinking about not using Telegram messenger make sure to make up your mind before you delete your Telegram account because there is no coming back. Here is a complete guide of how you can do that.
Delete Telegram account and keep all your data
The thing that might bug about deleting Telegram account could be the fact that you will lose all your chat conversations and your contacts. One way to delete Telegram account and still keep all your data is to change your Telegram phone number to transfer all your data to a new account. Then you can easily delete your old account. Here is how you can change your phone number on Telegram,
- Open Telegram application
- Go to settings
- Find “info” and tap on change number
- Click on “ok” and enter your new phone number
This will delete all your data from your old account and transfer them to your new account. this is the best way to delete Telegram account and keep all your account data and contacts at the same time.
How to delete Telegram account permanently
If you are thinking about deleting your Telegram account, you probably have noticed that you can’t do that through your Telegram app on your smart phone. So here is how you can delete Telegram account permanently or deactivate Telegram account. But before you proceed to delete your Telegram account, read next section carefully.
Things to know before deactivate Telegram account
Please notice that by deleting your Telegram account, you will lose all your chat conversations, groups and contacts associated with that account. Once you have deleted your Telegram account, you will not be able to get it back. Also, the confirmation code will be sent to your Telegram account and not via SMS. In addition, if you have created groups, people will be able to use that group and all your chat conversations won’t be deleted for your friends when you Delete Telegram account.
How to deactivate Telegram account
Deleting Telegram account is quite simple, but as I mentioned earlier, you’ll need to do it through your web browser. Mobile browser is not recommended as well. So here is how you can delete delete Telegram account permanently.
- Open Telegram deactivation page on your web browser
- Enter the phone number associated with the Telegram account that you would like to delete or deactivate
- click on “Next” and you will be asked to enter a password. (Check your Telegram on your phone to see the password that Telegram has sent for you)
- now you need to confirm Telegram delete account and you are done. You can also state the reason why you are deactivating.