In case you are a Snapchat user you definitely know that Snapchat is a mobile app, available on iOS or Android, that any picture or video or message you send within the app is available to the receiver for only a short time before it is inaccessible. This temporary sharing app was originally designed this way, but how about if you want to delete Snapchat messages? follow the article to find out.
What are different kinds of Snapchat Messages?
There are two types of Snapchat messages that users can interact with each other via them. The first one is the snap that it’s content is photo or video. The second type is the text messages that you can send and receive anytime especially after receiving their snaps to express your ideas.
How does Snapchat self deleting messages work?
In case you send out a message snap or text message, within a set amount of time, it will be gone. Also the person you have sent the message can view it once, and after that view, it would be deleted automatically.
How to delete and unsend Snapchat messages before they are read?
It might have happened for you that you have sent something to the wrong person or you have changed your mind about a message for any reason here is how you can delete a message before it’s viewed by the receiver. As I mentioned earlier it is useful if you sent something by mistake or have regrets about what you sent. Follow the steps bellow to do so.
- Update your app.
Install the latest version of Snapchat
- Open the Snapchat app.
- Open friends page.
Swipe right to go through the Friends page.
- Open chats.
Choose the Chats. You’ll see a list of all your conversations there.
- Choose the message.
Send a new message or select a message you already sent.
- Tap the message and hold it.
- Select “Delete.”
As soon as you delete the message any user in chats or in a group chat will not be able to see what you sent. They only would see a notice that you have deleted a message that you sent before.
How To Delete Saved Snapchat Message?
Since if you read the messages they would be deleted automatically there is a way that you are able to save messages on Snapchat and go back and read them at any time later.
In case you want to save part of your snap text message tap on the part of the message that you want to keep, the message that is saved will turn grey and turn into a different font and that’s how you know it’s saved after that, you can exit the app and go back and the message will not be deleted but the rest would be for sure. This works for both text and photos.
You have gone through your messages as many time as you wished and you want to delete them? Here is how to do it. Open the conversation that contains the saved message. Tap the grey saved text again to make it back to the normal text and white background. Now get out of the app and they will be deleted.
How to Delete Snapchat Messages Stored On Your Phone?
You can always delete your cache that may have Snapchat messages and photos stored within it. In case you want to free your phone storage or even want to sell your mobile phone it is recommended to delete the held data within your app’s cache that never gets deleted. By this your snaps would never be recovered. You can use different cash clear apps on the internet for both iOS and Android devices.
How to clear conversation on Snapchat?
On Snapchat app you have a possibility to quickly delete messages on conversations when you no longer need them. To clear conversations on Snapchat follow the steps bellow.
- Install the latest version of Snapchat on your device.
- Open Snapchat and tap the ghost icon in the top left corner.
- Choose Settings
- Choose Clear Conversations.
- Select the conversation you want to clear.
Clearing conversations won’t delete the saved Snapchat messages in case you have saved any messages on that particular conversation. As you can see the conversation threads will be removed from Chat list, so how can you go through the saved messages? Find the saved messages by starting chat with the specific contact.
In case you clear a Snapchat conversation you only would delete the messages from your device so other users still can go through the messages even if you have cleared them. Also remember that if other user has saved the conversation, the messages will remain until they unsave the messages. Generally you can say that clearing conversations won’t delete sent messages or messages saved by you or others.
Deleting your account would delete Snapchat messages that the receiver has not viewed yet.
You should look for messages with grey backgrounds on your conversations. If you see a message with a grey background, it has been saved by you or anyone else in that conversation.
No you cannot delete Snapchat messages if someone else has saved it. As it is mentioned above, there is no way to delete Snapchat messages that other people save unless they unsave the messages. Also, if you want to send something that you don’t want the receiver to save, it is better that you send them a picture instead of a chat.
If your messages has been sent, after you block the account they still can see your messages in case you remove them as a friend after sending the message it is the same. As usual when the receiver opens and views your message, you will notice.
Why saved Snapchat messages do not get deleted?
In case you are trying to delete a saved Snapchat message in the way mentioned earlier and they will not disappear, it is because the other contact saves the message, the message will stay in your Snapchat until the other contact unsave it.
Snapchat save messages are highlighted to gray so if the messages are gray you know they are saved and they would not disappear automatically.
When does Snapchat delete Chats?
By default messages sent over Snapchat will be deleted once they are viewed or have expired.
As it is set by default unopened Snaps would disappear automatically after 30 days.
Snapchat messages that are sent to a Group Chat would be deleted automatically after 24 hours if they be unopened.
It is possible to recover deleted Snapchat messages on an Android phone. When a Snapchat message disappears, the message will not be deleted from your phone memory cache but you are not able to see it since they are formatted as .nomedia. you should install a file manager and open the com.Snapchat.android folder. There Search for .nomedia files if you find one, rename the files and remove the format to view it with other phone apps.