Undoubtedly, Skype is one of the most popular applications used for messaging. Also Skype calls are very popular and many people use it. But this fame and popularity might have been decreased by the appearance of a great number of other applications which are faster and smarter. You might have different reasons why you no longer would want to use Skype. So, if you are thinking about quitting Skype, it is essential that you delete your Skype account before you remove the app from your computer or mobile device. Closing a Skype account might be more complicated that it needs to be. But you don’t need to worry. In this article I will show you how you can delete Skype account by taking some steps.
Why should you delete Skype account if you don’t want to use it?
Skype is a great app for making voice and video calls. But you might have replaced it with another app or you might have grown tired of it. Whatever your reasons are, you need to know that uninstalling the software alone would not be enough and you need to make sure to delete Skype account before you proceed to delete the software. This is because if you don’t delete your account, your account will be left out there and this creates the chance for hackers to spy on Skype account. Also, if you don’t delete your account, your friends won’t be notified that you are no longer available on Skype.
Steps to delete Skype account
In order to get rid of your Skype account, you will need to close your Microsoft account. Unfortunately, Microsoft has made this process more complicated that it needs to be. This is understandable because no online provider would want to put the delete button just right there to make it simple and easy. Also, you won’t be able to delete Skype account entirely, however you can delete all your personal information from Skype data base if you no longer want to use your account. This will also make it impossible for other users to find your account. Here are the steps you need to take in order to close your Skype account.
Delete personal information on Skype
The first step you need to take is to delete all the personal information you have provided when you created an account.
- Sign in to your Skype account
- Cancel any live subscriptions by clicking Auto recharge under Billing and payments
- Remove your payment method
- Set your online status to offline
- Click on your username in the menu bar
- Click on Manage. Your browser will open and direct you to your profile page
- Go to Personal Information section and click on Edit
You can now clear all your personal information from your Skype account.
Delete your Skype avatar
The next step you need to take is to delete your Skype avatar before you delete Skype account. Please note that you won’t be able to delete your Skype avatar but you have the option to change it to something else.
- Log in to your Skype account
- Click on Profile
- Click on Avatar
Now you can change your avatar to a new image.
Skype delete account request
Once you are done with the above steps, you will need to send a request to Skype and request delete account. Here are the steps you will need to take.
- Go to Skype account closure page
- Once you are signed in to the account you want to delete, click Next
- You will go through a check list to make sure you are ready to close your account
- Choose a reason the drop-down reason for why you want to delete Skype account
- Select Mark account for closure
It will take 60 days before your account is closed. You can change your mind and return to Skype within that 60 days. But after that, your account will be deleted permanently and this means that you can never get your account back.
This post is also available in: العربية (Arabic)