Instant messaging is a great way to stay in touch with your friends and your loved ones. We love to share every moment of our lives with our friends through our application. However, there are times when we feel the need to get away from it all or just to switch to some other messaging app. KakaoTalk application is of course a great messaging platform, however, you may no longer want to use it for any reasons. Here is how you can delete KakaoTalk account on your phone or on your computer.
What you need to know before you delete KakaoTalk account
KakaoTalk offers different services and features. Different services of this application includes, Kakao Talk, Kakao Story and Kakao Games. All these services are integrated into one account. So, if you delete KakaoTalk account, you will not be able to use any other services on this platform.
In the official KakaoTalk website, it is stated that:
However, your Kakao Account cannot be deleted immediately if the deletion is likely to result in financial issues or impact to other people’s use of Kakao services, even if you don’t have any other services linked to your Kakao Account.
So, if you are aiming at deleting your KakaoTalk account, you will definitely need to take these points into consideration.
Why you have to delete KakaoTalk account?!
So, you have given up using KakaoTalk application and you are sure there is no coming back. In this case, you might assume removing the app from your phone would do good. But hold on!
If you have decided to end your activity on KakaoTalk, it is absolutely crucial to delete your account before you uninstall the application. You may ask why is that. When you uninstall the application from your device and you do not delete your account, you in fact leave your account out there unattended and this may create the chance for intruders to hack KakaoTalk account and access your data while you have no access to your account. So, if you have decided that you no longer want to use this application, make sure to delete KakaoTalk account before you delete the app from your phone.
Steps to delete KakaoTalk account
Here are the steps you’ll need to take in order to delete KakaoTalk account.
- Launch KakaoTalk application on your phone.
- Open “SETTINGS“.
- Under settings, find “SUPPORT“.
- Under support, select “UNREGISTER KAKAOTALK“.
- Once you confirm “ALL DATA WILL BE DELETED”, the unregister button will appear.
- Select UNREGISTER and a pop up will notify you that you have successfully deleted your account.
Attention! by deleting your account on KakaoTalk, all your data will be lost and there will be no way to get that back. So, make up your mind before you attempt to delete it.
What happens if I delete KakaoTalk account?
Ad I mentioned before, once you unregister KakaoTalk account, you will lose all you chats and technically everything on this app (there is no way to get them back). So, will your friends be notified? When you delete KakaoTalk account, you will be deleted from your friends’ contacts list and you will be removed from all group chats.
How to sing out of KakaoTalk?
Unfortunately, KakaoTalk application does not come with a logging in and logging out feature. This means that once you have signed up on that application, you are signed in there for life unless you delete KakaoTalk account and in that case, you are signed out of it.