Instagram is one of the biggest social networks and its popularity is beyond doubt. Instagram has over 1 billion active users all around the world which emphasizes its popularity. Almost anyone with a smartphone has an Instagram account on their device. People love using Instagram because everything is communicated with pictures in this wonderful app. You can also use Instagram to contact your friends or share your experiences with them. Also, Instagram is highly secure, which makes its nearly impossible to spy on Instagram account. The downside of this application is that it consumes too much data that is why some people might want to delete Instagram account.
There are some times when you feel so tired of the virtual world and Instagram that you want to get away from it. Deleting the app from your device will not wipe you from it. So if you want to get rid of it for good, you will need to delete your account page. In this tutorial, I will show you how you can deactivate Instagram account permanently or temporarily.
Delete Instagram account permanently
As I said earlier, Instagram is a great way for sharing every moment of your life with your friends. But there are also times when you might get tired of it all. Also, you might want to create new Instagram account and get rid the previous one. In these situations, you might need to delete Instagram account permanently. So if you want to deactivate Instagram account on iPhone or Android, here is how you can get it done.
The thing you need to know about how to delete Instagram account on phone is that you will need to use Instagram web in order to do that. So, you should remember that if you want to deactivate Instagram account permanently, you can’t do it from the application.
Steps to deactivate Instagram account
The first thing you need to do is to go to Instagram delete account page on its websites. As I said earlier, you will only be able to delete your account through the website.
On the next step, you will be asked why you would want to delete Instagram account. There is a list you can choose from:
- Trouble getting started
- Created a second account
- Privacy concerns
- Want to remove something
- Too busy/ too distracting
- Can’t find people to follow
- Too many ads
- Something else
In the next section, type down your password and then click on “Permanently delete my account”.
You will be asked if you are sure you want to delete Instagram account. Just click on OK.
At the end you will see a message saying “Your account has been removed. We’re sorry to see you go!”.
Things you need to know about deleting Instagram account
The thing you need to know is that by deactivating your account permanently, you won’t be able to recover Instagram account. Everything you have done so far on your Instagram account will be omitted and there is no way to get it back.
Also, you won’t be able to use your Instagram username or email to create another account. What you can do is to change your username and email to the ones that you don’t want to use and then delete your Instagram account. You can then create another account with your original username and email.
When you delete Instagram account, no sign of you will appear on Instagram. Your account will appear as ‘Instagrammer‘ carrying no name or picture of you. As I said earlier, it is impossible to reactivate Instagram when you have deleted it for good. So if you are about to Delete your account, maybe you’ll need to think twice before you proceed.
This post is also available in: العربية (Arabic)