A Facebook group can be a useful place for sharing ideas and express opinions about different subjects with certain members. Membership and content can be controlled by a group admin and the creator. If you are an admin of a Facebook group and you created a group which you want to delete it now for any reason you can delete Facebook group or archive it. Groups can be deleted permanently when they have no members and in case you delete Facebook groups you will not be able to undo it. However you can always archive a group to delete it temporary and get it back at anytime.
What is difference between archive and delete a Facebook group?
When a group is archived, it will be hidden by the mean it will not appear in search results to user who are not group members, and no new members can join the group similar to when the group is deleted. However archiving a group is reversible and the admin can get the group back but if you delete a Facebook group you cannot get it back. Any group admin can decide to archive a group but only the creator admin can choose to delete Facebook group. While the group is archived admins are able to delete or edit the shared content on the group and also they can remove members but no one can join while the group is archived.
How to delete Facebook group?
To delete a group permanently follow the instruction below step by step.
- Step 1
Login to your Facebook account.
- Step 2
From your News Feed, click Groups.
- Step 3
Select your group that you want to delete.
- Step 4
Click Members on the left side of screen.
- Step 5
Click the icon next to each member’s name and select Remove from Group.
- Step 6
Select Leave Group next to your name after you have removed the other members.
Remember that if you are a group admin and not the creator you can’t delete Facebook group unless the creator chooses to leave the particular group too.
How to archive a Facebook group?
If you just want to hide your group and not delete it you have the possibility provided by Facebook. To archive a group and hide it without deleting it permanently, if you are admin or creator follow the steps below.
- Login to your account.
- From your News Feed, click Groups.
- Select the group you wish to archive.
- Click More icon below the cover photo.
- Select Archive Group.
- Click Confirm.
Remember that you do not have to be creator to be able to archive a group you can do it as an admin too.
Frequent questions and answers
Deleting a group is a permanent action that cannot be reversed however you can always get an archived group back.
If there is no admin left in the group, it will remain untill the last member leave the group.
Only the group creator who is also one of the admins can delete the group not all the admins.
Any of the admins even the non creator can archive a Facebook group.
If you are the creator of a group with hundreds of members and you want to delete it, it is certainly difficult to do it one by one. While there is not such an option available through the Facebook app or website there are some sudo codes on the internet that may help you ease the process.